1. Education

Major Disaster Declared for North Carolina

By April 20, 2011

Follow me on:

President Obama declared a major disaster for several counties affected by the severe weather events on April 16, 2011. The declaration means federal money for recovery efforts is available. Counties particularly affected by the disaster include Bertie, Bladen, Cumberland, Halifax, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Onslow, Wake, and Wilson. Individuals in these counties will now have monies available from local, state, and federal resources. If you or a loved one needs to apply for assistance, visit the FEMA site to learn how to apply.

Unfortunately, more storms may be on the way. The National Weather Service indicates that more thunderstorms capable of forming tornadoes may strike the same areas again this week.


Comments are closed for this post.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.